Teaching Schedule

2021 Teaching Schedule


Abbreviated HALF PRIMARY SERIES with Joanna & Sarah

Utilizing Props and mindful Modification 
Friday, July 23, 6am PST (7am MST, 9am EST)

Modifications are the magical secret of every serious asana lover. They know it is imperative that we open our minds to ways of studying our bodies in asana that allow all body types, abilities, and circumstances the chance to dive deeply into a study of movement. The mindful exploration of foundation and alignment through mindful modifications or prop use, gives an average asana shape the opportunity to blossom into its fullest potential and opens the door to those who might otherwise have been unable. This type of study and practice can help us create a carefully crafted arsenal of practice tools to be used as life’s unpredictable ebbs and flows hit us.

Friday, July 23, I will be in Reno, NV with the amazing Sarah Durney Hatcher for a special online class: Abbreviated Half Primary: How to Utilize Props and Mindfully Modify. This class is open to everyone and is meant to illustrate ways in which to approach your practice for any number of changing circumstances.

If we were to say that the subject of modification and or prop use in the practice of Ashtanga yoga has been frowned upon for decades, it would be a severe understatement!  

In the end, your practice belongs to you, it is meant to nourish your body, your mind, and your inner world. We are not all built the same, we do not all function the same, and we don’t want to because we are all unique! Your individual self may need a little something extra (ie. a prop or a modification) to help you tap into the actual essence of an asana. This does not mean you’re no longer practicing Ashtanga or you are in some way deficient, it means you sincerely care about your body.

YOU are the practitioner who studies your body; mining for skeletal alignment, lightness, and taking active and bold steps toward unlocking your own unique self.

Check out Sarah’s Instagram post on the event by CLICKING HERE!

Join Joanna Darlington and Sarah Durney Hatcher on Friday, July 23 at 6am PST (7am MST, 9am EST) for a trip through half primary series loaded with modifications and prop use ideas to fill your practice toolkit!

Fee: €16 ($20-ish)
Register at www.sarahhatcheryoga.com 


REGULAR CLASSES SUSPENDED
JULY 19 – AUGUST 3

Led Half-Primary Series Wednesdays

Wednesdays – 4:30-6pm MST (5:30pm CST, 6:30pm EST)

In collaboration with Yoga Shala Nashville, as well as Burning Spirits Yoga in Portland, I am offering this special weekly Led Practice and a short closing sequence (select postures of the primary series), followed by a guided breathing practice and chanting of the yoga sutras and devotional chants! Join for part or all of this 90 minute class.

Asana 4:30-5pm MST
Pranayama 5-5:30pm MST
Chanting 5:30-6pm MST

Each portion may run slightly longer or slightly shorter depending on the class.

Sliding Scale Fee: $8–$12/class  via PayPal or Venmo
Please specify what you are paying for when you send payment.


Mysore Classes – Sunday & Thursday

Sunday morning – 7-8:30am MST (9-10:30am EST)
Thursday evening – 3-4:30pm MST (5-6:30pm EST)

AYCD MYSORE TAKEOVER
For the month of June (possibly all summer) I am taking the reins of Ashtanga Yoga Club Durham’s online Mysore offerings to aide my dear friend Suzanne Faulkner in her battle against cancer. All AYCD people already know the drill! For anyone else that would like to join in either of these mysore classes you can register by emailing, darlingtonj@gmail.com.

Sliding Scale Fee: $10–$20/class  via PayPal or Venmo
Please specify what you are paying for when you send payment.


Private and Semi-private Sessions at Home or Online

Fees:

Online Private or Semi-Private Via ZOOM (60-Minutes)
1 Person $40 BUY NOW
2 People $50BUY NOW
3 People $60BUY NOW

In your Home/Office/Hotel
Private (60-Minutes) $80
Semi-Private (60-Minutes, 2-3 people) $120

Private (90-Minutes) $115
Semi-Private (90-Minutes, 2-3 people) $155

Book a session by emailing darlingtonj@gmail.com.

BackbendJo
Photo taken at Flow Yoga Center in Washington D.C.

One thought on “Teaching Schedule

Comments are closed.